Time Waster

Standard

Whilst I’m on the subject of time wasting, I thought I might as well share the events of my day. It was very nearly pointless, a waste, a reason to get back into bed at the soonest possible moment and groan, angrily. My day nearly got the better of me for, when I think about it, no good reason.

"When in doubt, whip the scones out"

I spent the morning  browsing the ‘New Artists from Germany’ exhibition at the Saatchi Gallery. I always try and combine exhibition dates with office hours. I’m expected to make an appearance twice a week and can often view and then review an exhibition in the same day, thus avoiding unnecessary trips to London. Like most people, I loathe the train. So, imagine my fury when I get to this office this afternoon, having travelled from Brighton to Sloane Square to London Bridge, and there’s nobody there. The doors are locked, the heating has packed in, they’ve all gone home. Naturally I’m somewhat annoyed when a text telling me not to bother coming in arrives seconds later. It’s freezing. I’m wearing a ridiculous hat and two thirds of my winter wardrobe, and I’ve lugged my laptop around a gallery for no reason whatsoever.

In the grand scheme of things, to what extent can I call my morning a waste of time? I enjoyed the exhibition, the sun continued to shine, I even bumped into an old friend at London Bridge Station. Not only that, I prefer working at home, which is exactly what I did.

My New Year’s resolution was a) to be more positive and b) to take each day as it comes. I could have easily come away from the first day of February thinking ‘what a pointless effort of traipsing around London, dressed for the Arctic, only to find that I could have gone to the exhibition, which is on until APRIL, on a day that would avoid me having to pay the £19 train fare twice…’

Instead, I chose to think, ‘I had a nice morning didn’t I? I made bloody good notes for my review didn’t I? I got a brisk walk, a brisk hug, a glimpse at some of London’s best bits, got chatted up in the coffee shop, and the chance to jot down some of my thoughts on my solitary journey home at 12:42pm. Was it really so bad that I ended up doing my work under a blanket by the fire? I even had time to make some scones afterwards and, for the record, that is something I never do. Ever.

Today was a good day, and all because I said so.

About corinleigh

I like to live in the moment, whatever 'the moment' is, in hope that the future will take care of itself. This ideal boils down to two major things: a) I am a victim of fate (and a victim of all the ideology and cliches that go with it) and b) I enjoy everything that is bad for my teeth... tea, coffee, chocolate, sweets, red wine, cigarettes... I may or may not end up toothless. Who knows. Who cares?

Leave a Reply

