Thief

Standard

Pebbles ground up,

Around your neck,

As we lie in a twist

Of sea air.

Forgotten myself,

In the clasp of now,

My face is a blur,

In my muddled up hair.

 

The water creeps up,

And bites at my feet,

Is is cold?

It’s frozen, not there.

My life in a box,

Was wrenched from my side,

I notice, too late,

Space is bare.

 

I don’t know a lot about Walt Whitman, which is farily poor show for an English Graduate. However, I do know that the following poem of his, ‘On the Beach at Night Alone’, encompasses the exact same scenery as mine and yet couldn’t be more different. Sometimes loneliness speaks before you even notice its existence. Take a leaf out of Whitman’s book – embrace the world around you for, after all, we’re all in this together aren’t we?

On the Beach at Night Alone

Walt  Whitman 1819–1892

On the beach at night alone,
As the old mother sways her to  and fro singing her husky song,
As I watch the bright stars  shining, I think a thought of the clef of the universes and of the future.
A vast similitude interlocks  all,
All spheres, grown, ungrown,  small, large, suns, moons, planets,
All distances of place however  wide,
All distances of time, all  inanimate forms,
All souls, all living bodies  though they be ever so different, or in different worlds,
All gaseous, watery,  vegetable, mineral processes, the fishes, the brutes,
All nations, colors,  barbarisms, civilizations, languages,
All identities that have  existed or may exist on this globe, or any globe,
All lives and deaths, all of  the past, present, future,
This vast similitude spans  them, and always has spann’d,
And shall forever span themand compactly hold and enclose them.
About corinleigh

I like to live in the moment, whatever 'the moment' is, in hope that the future will take care of itself. This ideal boils down to two major things: a) I am a victim of fate (and a victim of all the ideology and cliches that go with it) and b) I enjoy everything that is bad for my teeth... tea, coffee, chocolate, sweets, red wine, cigarettes... I may or may not end up toothless. Who knows. Who cares?

Leave a Reply

